Weight loss

Hi everyone. This may seem like a silly thread but I am well overweight and I was wondering if anyone has any weight loss tips. Recipes, weight loss plans, excerices, or even just share your success stories. Thanks!

Missy0417 Missy0417
Oct '17

Hi! I am a certified personal trainer and would love to help get you started on an exercise plan. I’m running a special now which includes a free fitness assessment.

pm me if interested!

Hi Missy,

I recently lost over forty lbs and my best piece of advice would be don’t fall for the scams. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is. Wraps won’t make you lose, neither will pills and essential oils. Hard work, eating well, and exercising are the only ways to do it. I highly recommend working with a personal trainer and a dietitian if possible to take some of the mental work out of the equation.

Good luck!

Katherine Katherine
Oct '17

As a personal trainer, I have a background in nutrition and contrary to the quick fix scams, all food groups are necessary.

As a matter of fact, carbs are the preferred energy source for the brain and are the first energy source used during exercise.

First off, everyone loses weight differently. So going into any weight loss plan with an open mind is key. However, things that should work for everyone: water. Drink, drink, drink. I try to get in close to 100 oz. per day. I have a 24 oz. Contigo bottle and I refill it 4 times, sometimes more. It keeps water cold all day. Second, you need to cut the processed sugar. Stick with lean proteins (shrimp, chicken breast, turkey), fruits and veggies, whole grain/complex carbohydrates (brown rice, 100% whole wheat bread, sweet potatoes, oatmeal). Get rid of the soda, juice, and other sugary drinks. They are calorie bombs. I try to stay away from artificial sweeteners and fat free stuff. Usually to make something fat free they have to add a ton of chemicals and sugar. Full or low fat dairy products are better.