Electrical Trade

Hey everyone. Looking to make a career change to become a licensed electrician. I know all the protocols and such but looking for more information on trying to get my foot in the door as an apprentice/helper. Anyone have any experience or advice for getting into this trade?

Future_journeyman Future_journeyman
Sep '19

A lot of shops are busy right now. There are a lot of entry level opportunities. My advice is to target ones that do residential commercial and industrial so you get a well rounded experience.

Yolanda Castro Yolanda Castro
Sep '19

Hi I am a licensed electrician. They are changing the rules you will need a bachelors degree and 2 years approved apprenticeship or 4 years of approved electrical school and 2 approved apprenticeship to be eligible to take the exam. I think right now all you need is 5 years apprenticeship working under any electrician. I am a non union contractor the advantages to working for the union is that the provide free education and there apprenticeship programs are approved threw the board of electrical contractors. The issue right now you can get a job for Billy’s electric for 5 years making peanuts but if he does not have an approved program the board won’t except it in the very near future. I would call the board of examiners in Newark and ask for info.FYI you cannot be a felon or have a DWI to be approved to take the exam. A union electrician makes almost 60 an hour now. A plumber and HVACR contractor need 4 years of school to get a license but a electrician doesn’t right now crazy.

Sparks
Sep '19

Check out /r/electricians on reddit or call an IBEW local near you

I can recommend some YouTube channels as well

Skippy Skippy
Sep '19

Join the electrical union , best way to do it.