HMS lose teacher aids

So sad to hear that at least 4 teachers aids have lost their job at the middle school. Very sad for them and the kids at school who need them. Having 2 kids that went thru the middle school, I thanked all the aids for a great job. Wishing you the best for the future.
Shame on the principle/mango. Way to go!

Hackmom Hackmom
May '19

Definition of way to go. US, informal. —used to tell someone that he or she has done something well Nice job, guys! Way to go!

This is how mango meets his goals and gets his "incentive pay".....bonus.

Acl76 Acl76
May '19

Last hired fired, long term burnouts stay...

What is the role of a teacher’s aid? I don’t think it was a position while I was in public school (I graduated in 88). Is it for students with special needs or is for aiding a teacher with an entire class room?

Hot under the collar
May '19

I went through 13 years of primary school (if you count Kindergarten) and never had a teachers aid, not even in Kindergarten. Can't teachers teach without help anymore?

Laurel Laurel
May '19

hi, hot under the collar,
it can be both. It depends on the school setting and the IEP of the Child with S Needs.

Students with special needs

Darrin Darrin
May '19

Teacher's Aids for ESL and other challenged learners are state and/or federally mandated..... without funding of course.

Doctor
May '19

Things like this are just going to continue. Lower taxes and higher expenses equal less staff and less assistance for the children. Services cost money- and if the taxpayer refuses to shell it out this is the result. It's all about setting priorities.

dodgebaal dodgebaal
May '19

This directly effects the quality of education the students receive. Hold the superintendent directly accountable for poor decisions like this. Parents have the power to do that!

Retired Retired
May '19