Prospective Student Looking at Centenary University

Hello all. I am a prospective student looking into possibly going to Centenary University. The school is one that has potentially sparked my interest. I have heard both good and bad things regarding the school. For example, the administration and staff are not always on top of things. I know someone who's apartment flooded and there was mold. Cafeteria food looks okay. Can anyone tell me honestly, where is my money going and is it worth it?

CentU
Feb '19

What kind of degree are you pursuing ? Cafeteria food and administration should be a secondary concern.

Electric Bear Electric Bear
Feb '19

Feel free to DM me. Both myself and my girlfriend are graduates. I wouldn't want to put some info (good and bad) publicly.

It would also be helpful to hear what major you're looking at, and if you're local or would be new to the area.

Centenary is expensive. But can be appealing for people, especially equine majors - Centenary produces some of the top equine competitors in the nation.

For me, it was the area, it was a nicer environment than many places in cities or not-so-great area. Many classes were small, most professors were very accessible, and I spent almost every Friday out hiking in the area.

Too many people treat it as the community college and don't put much effort into it.

One way you may save money is to live off campus: you can find cheaper apartments off campus if you don't mind driving or walking further.
I lived off campus - probably at the end of the day cost about the same for a 12 month lease as it would have to live on campus (But I had to pay electric, heat and internet and most of my own food).