Auto Insurance

Just wondering if anyone has their medical insurance as the primary on their auto insurance and then the auto insurance as the secondary for personal injury. My agent suggested it to me to save money on my policy. Thank you.

Markymark
Jan '17

Is this option just a NJ thing?

If I recall correctly, when I lived there, I designated auto insurance as the primary. Sometimes it isn't about the $5 savings, but rather not fighting with a medical insurance agent for an auto accident - their coverage may be different, have to deal with in/out of network, etc.

In a car accident with severe injuries, you want medical treatment *now*. You could probably always shift to medical insurance for longer term treatment, rehab, etc. later (or if the costs are higher than the auto policy will pay).

Also - your health insurance doesn't cover your passengers...

Mark Mc. Mark Mc.
Jan '17

As an agent I tell people they can save some money making your medical primary sometimes as much as 15% off the PIP coverage part of a policy. You should be cautious because if you have an injury later on and your medical insurance has a high deductible or other thresholds you need to reach you will be paying a lot out of pocket vs the $250 deductible for the PIP (personal injury protection) coverage you can have here in NJ. NJ has some of the most generous levels of PIP coverage out of any state in the country. I am pretty sure the car insurance companies would prefer you use your medical instead of them as primary for medical since we are a no fault state and many accidents people are injured in are paid by their own company. For true saving it is best to check your auto insurance prices with other companies to ensure you have a competitive price. Just today I had an insured with one of my companies paying about $650 for 6 months and I checked it with my other companies and now I have a company that will cover him with the same coverage for $289. Even as an agent I will be surprised