The Hooker Man Long Valley

I recently brought up the Hooker Man at a dinner conversation. The 3 other people at my table had no idea what who Hooker Man was or it's legend. I was shocked. Anyone here remember this scary phenomenon?

Common
Nov '15

http://www.hackettstownlife.com/forum/51457

Discussed in a prior thread...

To Common - Being a 1978 WMC Graduate, I have heard and seen the alleged Hookerman. At night, we would stop the car on Naughright Road, on the railroad tracks - Everyone would look to the right and see nothing, we would look to the left and see nothing, we would look to the right and there he was, about 20 feet from the car - everyone in the car would scream and we would zoom off. Brings back fond memories of having fun with the gang - Of course you never saw a man, you just saw a light and with anticipation being high, that's all you needed to have a car full of screaming teens.

Will H Will H
Nov '15

i am a 1970 graduate of wm and i have to say i have seen Hooker man!!! Will never forget it!

It's a ghost of some sort that walks around with a light on the former RR tracks now called the Columbia Trail. Apparently it's pretty frightening. Never seen it myself, lived in Htown my whole life except for university.
Also, my colleague's kids, who go to WMC told me a few months ago that they no longer even talk about the Hookerman at their school. What a shame.

1988LJ 1988LJ
Nov '15

Scared the beejeebees out of me when I was a kid!!!

Valley Girl Valley Girl
Nov '15

A northern NJ legend. Reported along any of the rail lines with long straight stretches that ran to and from the iron producing areas. Especially between the iron mines near Mine Hill and the forge in High Bridge. The story was that a signalman lost his arm to a train and now hung a lantern on his hook and was searching for a teenager to skewer with said hook.