Replacing Comcast modem/router

We currently have a Comcast supplied RCA modem and my own Linksys WRT54g wireless router. They just sent us a notice that the RCA modem is not compatible with the 105 mbps speed of our service and we should upgrade. we currently lease the modem for $10 month and I dont want to lease any more.

I'm not that technical when it comes to modems/routers etc, so I need help.

Comcast tech recommended the Arris TG 862G modem/wireless router. This would replace my current setup, including the Linksys wireless. Since a lot of the connectivity in our house is wireless, is that the best way to go?

fyi, we have the full tv internet and phone bundle.

thanks for the help!

Bill Scott Bill Scott
Jul '15

That's what I did Bill and it works fine. Even though I hate Comcast, I'm stuck with them.

botheredbyuu2 botheredbyuu2
Jul '15

I would not get a modem/router combo. Usually the two devices combined are not as up to date as individual units. You need a DOCSIS 3.0 capable modem to get the 105 mpbs speed. I have Comcast and use a Motorola 6020 (about $70) and a Netgear router. You will find more stability with separate units and if something goes wrong or needs updating you don't have to replace everything.

Normally I would suggest the Motorola combined unit (SB6120 or newer SB6180) even if it's not always up to date. For an everyday user who isn't going to reconfigure anything and without any high end use of it, the single unit is far more convenient and less expensive. However, you're really stuck because of the phone. That's the key. The only other phone capable all in one runs the exact same software on it as the Arris. It's a very error prone piece of equipment, but if you have the phone part, you're practically stuck with it.

I really hope in the near future there are more options for people with Comcast phone.

thanks folks.

If I go with the separate modem/router, would upgrading the router make any difference in my wireless speed?