Hackettstown needs an ice hockey team

Hello everyone, I'm a fellow student at hackettstown high school. These past few months have been an awesome push for us, we finally got a lacrosse program for boys and girls in the high school and middle schools. My topic today however is a little different. I always wanted to play locally on an ice hockey team but since chillout has closed it has been much harder. I think with parents and players participation, we could create some ice hockey teams for hackettstown to play at the closest ice arena which would be Aspen ice in randolph. Now granted, ice hockey itself is a VERY expensive sport. I believe that in time if we get enough participation we could have a couple of teams and go from there. Please comment your thoughts I'm all ears, thanks

Robert Zukowksi Robert Zukowksi
Feb '15

Are you aware of Aspen's existing programs? If you want to play all you need to do is sign up at Aspen. They've got programs at both high school and middle school. If you get a dozen or so from Hackettstown then you've got a whole team. If not, you still play on what ever teams you want.

HHS had a team for a short time when Chillout was in town, however parents paid all expenses. (The school only sponsered the team so they could play other school tea,s and the team was covered under the school insurance, i believe)This worked well for several years, until the initial students graduated and the upcoming families were not willing to pay out of pocket. As you mentioned, it is a very expensive sport, especially when you have to pay for ice time and trael to and from Randolph. It would be a nice opportunity for students, but unfortunately there are many more hurdles to this than there were to lacrosse. Good luck.

In a different regard. I used to play in adult leagues at Skylands up in Stockholm but have since moved out to Hackettstown. Anyone play in any adult leagues at Randolph? I would like to play again.

Greener Pastures Greener Pastures