Hackettstown economy?

My wife is from Hackettstown, and I've been visiting my in-laws on and off for the past 20 years. When I first visited back in the mid 90s, it was a cute town. It wasn't rich, but it seemed to have had a reasonable economy, robust enough to support antique shops and restaurants. My guess is that the economy was based around light manufacturing (Mars, etc.) and as a bedroom community for commuters to more expensive parts of NJ.

Over the past few years, I've noticed Main St. seems to have declined. Over near Hess, I saw some check cashing/gold/dollar stores, and many vacant store fronts.

What happened? Was it the collapse of the housing bubble in 2008? The loss of blue collar jobs? (or both?)

It seems like a nice place that has hit a rough patch, and I'm saddened to see it.

bezeq bezeq
Jan '15

bezeq - I personally believe the 'rough patch' is long gone - as far as restaurants, we now have an abundance of unique and wonderful choices -

http://www.hackettstownbid.com/restaurants/

Let's not forget the two (yes two) micro-brews coming to town.

Part of the issue was big box and chain stores opening nearby and the exploding internet commerce out-pricing the small shops. But people are starting to realize the lack of service is not what it's cracked up to be so you will see some re-invented shops opening up in town. That a Real Estate office choices to open up in a prime location is very encouraging.

Folks on this site know I have a rosy viewpoint, but I really believe we are on the upswing and the Dollar Store is a welcome addition, it being what Woolworths was to prior generations.

So, keep on the lookout for some new things coming to town :)

trekster3- trekster3-
Jan '15

Good real restaurants are a reality and draw people from far away (30+ miles). I see this continuing and all the town has to to is to keep the parking available for them. What is missing:

1) Indian Restaurant (what college town doesn't have one)